Home Town Council

Town Council

Horwich forms an integral part of the Bolton Metropolitan Borough electing three Councillors for the Horwich North Ward and three Councillors for the Horwich South and Blackrod Ward. Bolton Council is the unitary authority and administers highways, social services, education, planning environment, leisure services and housing and council tax benefit. Housing is administered by Homes for Bolton

Finance for local government is obtained through central government grants and the Council Tax is collected by Bolton Council, and they have an access point located in Horwich Library.

The Horwich Parish (which consists of the whole of Horwich and part of Lostock) is divided into eight wards: Brazley, Bridge, Central, Church, Claypool, Fall Birch, Lever Park and Vale, with 14 councillors elected for a four year period serving an electorate of over 15,000. Town councillors do not receive any payment or expenses for carrying out their duties or attending meetings.

18 September 2023
Last Updated
9 June 2024